18 Nov 2015

​AIPM Members dominate regional Project Management awards

Awards, apfpm, PMAA
​AIPM Members dominate regional Project Management awards

Some of Australia’s finest Project Managers and organisations have had their work recognised overnight in Kuala Lumpur with the announcements of the winners of the 2015 Asia Pacific Federation of Project Management (apfpm) Project Management Achievement Awards

Some winners from the recent 2015 AIPM National Project Management Achievement Awards (announced at our National Conference in Hobart) were put forward as nominees for the regional awards, and no less than six of those were announced as winners again last night. AIPM members took out six of the eight categories, including:

Category A – Construction and Engineering
: Shire of Campaspe – Flood Recovery

Category B – Telecommunications/Information Technology
: DSITI & Telstra Corporation

Category C – Organisational Change Management
: Queensland Police Service – G20 Project Group

Category E: Internationally Funded Humanitarian Aid
: Aspen Medical – Ebola Response in West Africa

Project Manager of the Year
: John Riddett - Dun & Bradstreet

Young Project Manager of the Year
: Elena Zagorenko – ElectraNet

In addition to our winners, the Northern Territory Department of Infrastructure were awarded a High Distinction for their Cyclone Recovery Works Phase 1 Project in the Community Service and/or Regional Development category.

The apfpm Project Management Awards recognise, honour, and promote excellence and outstanding achievements in project and program management and research in project management within the region.

Young Project Manager of the Year award winner Elena Zagorenko has attributed her success to the support that she has received from her managers, project team and being involved with the AIPM, which helped her transition to Australian culture from her native Ukraine.

“In a field where there is very high calibre competition, it is an honour to be recognised for my work and I take this as further motivation to keep improving my professional practice and leadership skills,” Elena said.

Mark Patch, the apfpm Award Chair, added, “We commend Elena’s commitment to furthering best practice in the area and look forward to her continued contribution. It is very encouraging that such knowledge and experience can be shared among like-minded peers in the region, further enhancing our professional capacity.”

Winners from the apfpm Project Management Achievement Awards will now be nominated for the 2016 International Project Management Association’s Project Excellence Awards, with winners to be announced in October alongside the 2016 AIPM National Conference in Conjunction with IPMA in Sydney.

If you believe you, your organisation or your colleague has done work worthy of recognition, then consider applying for the 2016 AIPM Project Management Achievement Awards. Visit our Awards page for more information.